I love mankind; it's people I can't stand.

[ 0_o ] New [ @_@ ] Old [ 6_6 ] Profile [ 0_~ ] About Me [ >_< ] Surveys

[ @_@ ] My fans [ 0_~ ] Chat Dland [ 6_6 ] Diaryrings

[ =_= ] E-Mail [ @_o ] Notes [ o_0 ] Recommend [ o_@ ] Host [ #_@ ] Design
Feeling: Calm. Loving my life.
Eating: Um... life?
Drinking:Dasani water
Wearing: Jeans, black tank top with built in bra, lavender panties, eith a little sleeping kitty on them, my claddagh, green choker and matching earrings, contacts, vestiges of the day's make-up, black belt.

Listening to:
*Hummmmrumblerumblerumble* It's my washing machione making contented noises.
Chatting with:
Keeping my own counsel.
Thinking: "I need to concentrate on my posture more."
Remembering: Dave's tongue ring.
Glad for: My ability to move past fear into growth.

Leave me a note! (log in?)
Get yours @ Kitty-Rash Designs!
Get reviewed by DiaryReviews!


Today is: 2002-04-23 - @ 8:32 p.m.
editor

all time - is relative
There was this lady who wrote into my newspaper about a controversial book on youths having sex. She said that we need to give our teenagers boudaries, we need to keep them away from sex, and other, dirty, immoral, wrong things. It pissed me off to no end. SO I didn something I had never done before. I sat down and wrote a letter to the editor of my paper. and you know what, it got printed! Here is a copy of what I wrote: Dear Tribune Editor,

Contrary to what Ms. Kiessig said, "Outrage over book about young sex," (The Tribune, April 3) is misplaced. She seems quite content in passing on the out-dated thought that sex is an immoral, unnatural, and just plain wrong thing for young people to do. 65% of seniors graduating high school this year are no longer virgins*. These people are going to become your doctors, psychiatrists, son-in-laws, daughter-in-laws, employees, co-workers, and friends. The act of conditioning them to think sex is 'dirty and shameful' does not lower the statistic. What it does do, however, is give them a warped sense of their own sexuality, resulting in lowered self-esteem leading to a higher depression rate. Yes, I do believe that children need limits, but they should also have a chance to have a healthy sexual relationship with themselves and others. Thank you.

Sincerely,

Stasha Migliaccio

9th grader, Arroyo Grande High School

*Teen People, April 2002

I was soo proud!! A bunch of people commented on it, and then something happened today tht made me feel really good. A guy Ben, I don't really know him that well, he was just in one of my classes last year, he called to me and said, "Hey, I really liked what you had to say, that was kickass. Thanks." I felt all warm and fuzy.


all time - is relative

Layout best viewed with IE+, & 800x600 resolution.