I love mankind; it's people I can't stand.

[ 0_o ] New [ @_@ ] Old [ 6_6 ] Profile [ 0_~ ] About Me [ >_< ] Surveys

[ @_@ ] My fans [ 0_~ ] Chat Dland [ 6_6 ] Diaryrings

[ =_= ] E-Mail [ @_o ] Notes [ o_0 ] Recommend [ o_@ ] Host [ #_@ ] Design
Feeling: Calm. Loving my life.
Eating: Um... life?
Drinking:Dasani water
Wearing: Jeans, black tank top with built in bra, lavender panties, eith a little sleeping kitty on them, my claddagh, green choker and matching earrings, contacts, vestiges of the day's make-up, black belt.

Listening to:
*Hummmmrumblerumblerumble* It's my washing machione making contented noises.
Chatting with:
Keeping my own counsel.
Thinking: "I need to concentrate on my posture more."
Remembering: Dave's tongue ring.
Glad for: My ability to move past fear into growth.

Leave me a note! (log in?)
Get yours @ Kitty-Rash Designs!
Get reviewed by DiaryReviews!


Today is: 2002-07-05 - @ 2:30 p.m.
Fireworks Musings

all time - is relative
I was laying on my back on the beach last night, watchng the spectactular fireworks and suddenly an image, fully formed, popped into my head. It was of an old man, crumpled up in his wheelchair like a peice of discarded tissue paper. He was watching fireworks too, but his were on a small tv set, and the colors were a blur. He had tears in his eye as he remebered all of the past fourth of julys he had been to, all of the wonderful nights. And he knew this was his last one. He had always imagined he would go out like a firework, in a big blast, and everyone would say "Ooooh...". But it wasn't like that. The fireworks were fuzzy, and the reception bad, and he knew he was going to die without seeing the fireworks for the last time. And so he slipped away from life, quietly, like the last remanants of a firework, fading as it reaches for the ocean...

I heard people around me mentioning there favorite firework of the night. More than one mentioned the ones that sparkled. And I realized that it wasn't one firework that sparkled more than the rest, it was just little ones, that died out quickly with others like them, that made it appear to sparkle.And it made me think, "You know, even if I die without accomplishing anything, without ever doing anything big, I will still be happy, becuase I know I will be a part of a sparkle."

Quote for the Entry: "They called me mad, and I called them mad, and damn them, they outvoted me." Nathaniel Lee, on being consigned to a mental institution.

Say it out loud, it feels wonderful.


all time - is relative

Layout best viewed with IE+, & 800x600 resolution.